Monique Péan and Eddie Borgo Win CFDA Tiffany & Co. Grant

valentine couture 2011 review

Photo: Andrew Walker/WireImage for Tiffany & Co.

Tiffany & Co.'s Michael Kowalski with Monique Péan, Eddie Borgo, Anna Wintour, and Steven Kolb.

The CFDA/Vogue Fashion Fund’s new partnership with Tiffany & Co. has found its first two talented beneficiaries: Monique Péan and Eddie Borgo.

Announced in May, the three-year partnership will offer $1 million in total to emerging jewelry designers, and Péan and Borgo have just been announced as the recipients of the first development grants, with Péan awarded $150,000 and Borgo taking $100,000 to grow their businesses.

Winners were chosen by a panel that included Michael Kowalski, chairman and CEO of Tiffany & Co., Anna Wintour, Steven Kolb, and Vogue’s senior market editor Meredith Melling Burke (senior accessories editor Filipa Fino was originally named to the committee, but she was replaced by Melling Burke after Fino left the magazine in June).

Designers eligible for the grant were any former CFDA/Vogue Fashion Fund nominees who specialized in jewelry, which included Dean Harris (a nominee from 2004), Anthony Nak (2005), Subversive Jewelry (2006), Philip Crangi (2007), Irene Neuwirth (2008), Péan (2009), House of Waris (2009), Pamela Love, and Borgo (both from 2010).

The 2011 crop of CFDA/Vogue Fashion Fund nominees includes three jewelry designers—Dana Lorenz of Fenton/Fallon, Soraya Silchenstedt of Finn Jewelry, and Pamela Love—who will be eligible to apply for the Tiffany & Co. grant next year.

In related news, Steven Kolb’s has a new title at the CFDA.